Vihari shines again as India B enter Deodhar final

Vihari shines again as India B enter Deodhar final

- in Cricket News



Vihari rescues India B to push them into the final  Vihari shines again as India B enter Deodhar final prv 1540387732

Vihari rescues India B to push them into the ultimate © Getty

India B, with two wins in as many days, sealed their spot within the ultimate of Deodhar Trophy with a 30-run victory over India C at Feroz Shah Kotla on Wednesday (October 24).

Hanuma Vihari top-scored for India B with 76. By stitching essential partnerships with the lower-order, he ensured that his staff posted an honest rating of 231 for 9. In reply, India C bought bowled out for 201, regardless of 4 of their high six batsmen getting first rate begins, solely to throw it away in the long run. The spin duo of Krishnappa Gowtham and Manoj Tiwary picked three wickets apiece and choked the opposition.

India B, after opting to bat, bought off to an honest begin, as Mayank Agarwal toyed with the bowling. Nevertheless, India C’s strike bowler Rajneesh Gurbani saved making use of the stress and castled Prashant Chopra earlier than forcing Agarwal right into a false shot 5 balls later. After 10 overs, Pappu Yadav was launched into the assault and he claimed two vital wickets – Shreyas Iyer and Manoj Tiwary. The latter, who was trying in nice contact, bought out to a ripping supply from the left-arm spinner. Rohit Rayudu adopted Tiwary within the very subsequent over and India B had been wobbling at 90/5 after 20 overs.

The onus to bail his staff out of bother was as soon as once more on Vihari, who had come into this fixture on the again of an unbeaten 87 in opposition to India A. The Hyderabad teenager discovered an ready associate within the type of Ankush Bains, with whom he added 60 runs for the sixth wicket. Through the course of this alliance, Vihari recorded his half-century in 62 balls – a wise knock with none undue dangers.

Following Bains’s downfall, Krishnappa Gowtham got here out all weapons blazing. His plan was to go after Pappu Yadav and he tonked a few sixes. Nevertheless, he performed one shot too many and holed out at long-off. When Gurbani returned and nipped out Vihari with a slower supply, it appeared like the tip was nigh. However the ultimate pair – Jaydev Unadkat and Shahbaz Nadeem – annoyed the India C bowlers by including 36 essential runs in 32 balls.

India C, in reply, had been cautious to start with. Chahar saved bowling within the tight channel and one ball simply reared off the deck to supply an unplayable supply which accounted for Samarth. Ajinkya Rahane, after getting his eye in, perished enjoying a rash stroke in opposition to Gowtham. Quickly, Suresh Raina misjudged the size and fell cheaply, thereby turning into Gowtham’s second sufferer. Shubman Gill had a rush of blood when he noticed a full toss from Manoj Tiwary, and ended up slicing it to level for a catch – one other batsman to throw away a begin after Rahane.

At 85/four, Suryakumar Yadav was joined by Vijay Shankar and so they steadied the ship and put the chase again on monitor. A component-timer within the type of Shreyas Iyer modified the complexion of the sport by offering the vital breakthrough; the skipper trapped Shankar and thereby ended the 48-run stand. Ishan Kishan got here to the crease with 99 runs to win, however he could not make an affect. He discovered it arduous to get his timing proper and finally perished for a rusty 20-ball 5 whereas attempting to interrupt the shackles.

With the asking charge within the neighborhood of 6 runs per over, the duty was on Suryakumar’s shoulders to tug off the chase. Nevertheless, that thought was put to relaxation by Tiwary who introduced out a miscue from the Mumbaikar and in his very subsequent over he eliminated Gurbani as properly. Navdeep Saini and Washington Sundar hung round with the bat for some time, however they hardly tried to seek out the goal. Chahar ended Washington’s resistance and wrapped up the sport as India C bought bundled out within the 49th over at hand India B a cushty victory.

Temporary scores: India B 231/9 in 50 overs (Hanuma Vihari 76, Ankush Bains 25; Rajneesh Gurbani Three-38, Pappu Roy Three-45) beat India C 201 in 48.2 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 39; Krishnappa Gowtham Three-40, Manoj Tiwary Three-44) by 30 runs

© Cricbuzz


About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.